a-lead

An Anabaptist leadership and development program for the emerging leader

Are you an emerging leader looking to make an impact and expand the way you view yourself, your work, and your sense of purpose? A 3-month virtual program, a-lead I is a leadership formation academy that you can experience from your own location. Leadership is the art of motivating others to work together toward a common goal. Anabaptist leadership is doing so with the additional lens of service as an act of faith within your community. This program will focus on better understanding your leadership style and key skills for motivating others. Throughout the program, we will explore what these skills look like from an Anabaptist values perspective and how these skills can be practiced and applied to foster the best in yourself and others.

The program begins in September with an introductory session followed by 3 half-day sessions in October, November, and December.

Program

Three 4-hour interactive and instructional sessions will take place via videoconference, beginning at 1:00 PM EST/10:00 AM PST.

Pre-session reading and videos will be assigned to participants as well as follow-up work to review with your supervisor. Each session will alternate between multiple preceptor-led topics and small group breakout room discussions where topics will be fleshed out for your actual work environment.

During each session, the participants will address real challenges and opportunities and develop action plans to share with their supervisors and implement with their approval.

Supervisors will nominate a-lead I participants and will commit to supporting their attendance and reviewing their progress. Attendees must attend all 4 sessions in full, and complete post-session work to graduate from the program and receive certification.

The Preceptors for this program are leaders from MHS, MHS Consulting and other Anabaptist organizations.

Who Should Attend?

New supervisors or managers and those preparing to supervise others with growing potential for leadership

Outcomes

At the completion of a-lead I, participants will have had the opportunity to:

  1. develop shared sensibilities that reflect Anabaptist values that leaders will recognize and draw from;
  2. operationalize learned knowledge and skills within the scope of job responsibilities; and
  3. become motivated leaders equipped to maximize colleague relationships and seek to contribute to the greater good.

Registration

To nominate an emerging leader, register by September 15th for $300 (includes DiSC & Agile EQ assessments). No refunds will be granted following September 28th.

For more information contact info@mhsonline.org.


Schedule

Introductory Session:
September 29, 2022 3:00-4:00 pm EST/ 12:00-1:00 PM PST

Session I: Understanding Myself
Tuesday, October 11, 2022
1:00-5:00 PM EST/10:00-2:00 PM PST

  • My leadership style: DiSC
  • My social style: Agile EQ
  • My values & purpose
    • Mission, purpose, and values
    • Anabaptism and service leadership
  • My ethics

Session 2: Understanding How I Work With Others
Tuesday, November 8, 2022
1:00-5:00 PM EST/10:00-2:00 PM PST

  • My organization: Corporate ethics, mission, vision, and values
  • My team:
    • Hospitality: diversity, equity & inclusion
    • Communication: team building, feedback & setting expectations
    • Conflict: courageous conversations
    • Productive meetings

Session 3: Understanding My Career Pathway As Part Of A Greater Purpose
Tuesday, December 6, 2022
1:00-5:00 PM EST/10:00-2:00 PM PST

  • My career
    • Transferable skills
    • Goals
    • Mentoring
  • My purpose
    • Personal finance
    • Personal mission, values, and purpose
  • Statements presentations
  • Graduation